New MHP Troopers graduate from Montana Law Enforcement Academy

Posted at 10:35 PM, Sep 02, 2016
and last updated 2016-09-03 00:35:02-04

Recently, 364 people applied to become a Montana Highway Patrol Trooper, and nine were selected. 

They completed 23 weeks of training at the Montana Law Enforcement Academy in Helena, and Friday was their graduation ceremony.

Attorney General Tim Fox addressed the graduates at the event, which took place at the Radisson Colonial Hotel in Helena.

Fox emphasized the importance of collaboration and character, telling the graduates, “The importance of the work that lies ahead of you cannot be overstated, and I want you know that I will be your advocate and friend wherever and whenever possible.   So, set your direction with a positive attitude and strong spirit.  Keep company with people who uplift you, whose presence calls forth your best.  Remember, above all, do the right things for the right reasons.”

Toward the end of the ceremony, troopers selected loved ones to pin their badge to their uniforms.

At the ceremony, four awards were presented:

Physical Fitness Award
Alexander S. Hiday
Awarded for exemplary standards during the physical fitness curriculum in the 60th MHP Academy.

The Michael Haynes Memorial Grant
End of Watch:  March 27, 2009
This grant is presented to:  Griffin W. Sutherland
Awarded in loving memory of Trooper Michael W. Haynes – MHP 159 by his wife, Tawny Haynes Norton.

Academic Award
Jack H. Rhodes IV
Awarded for exemplary standards during the academic curriculum in the 60th MHP Academy.

Camp Commander Award
Alexander S. Hiday
Awarded for exemplary standards and performance observed by the Camp Commanders in the 60th MHP Academy.

Members of the 60th academy class include:

Tyler Brant
Hometown:  Spokane, WA
Initial station:  Culbertson

Michael Driemeyer
Hometown:  White Sulphur Springs
Initial station:  Shelby

Matt Erickson
Hometown:  Kalispell
Initial station:  Havre

Alexander Hiday
Hometown:  Missoula
Initial station:  Superior

Timothy Kucerovy
Hometown:  Flanders, NJ
Initial station:  Billings

Michael O’Connor
Hometown:  Butte
Initial station:  Billings

Jon Raymond
Hometown:  Columbia Falls
Initial station:  Superior

Jack Rhodes IV
Hometown:  Reno, NV
Initial station:  Hardin

Griffin Sutherland
Hometown:  Palm Bay, FL
Initial station:  Billings