George Lucas Fast Facts - KXLH.com | Helena, Montana

George Lucas Fast Facts

Posted: Updated:
CNN Library

(CNN) -- Here's a look at the life of filmmaker George Lucas.

Personal:Birth date: May 14, 1944

Birth place: Modesto, California

Birth name: George Walton Lucas Jr.

Father: George Lucas Sr., office supply store owner

Mother: Dorothy (Bomberger) Lucas

Marriages: Mellody Hobson (2013-present); Marcia Griffin (1969-1983, divorced)

Children: Adopted with Marcia Griffin: Amanda, 1981; adopted as a single father: Katherine, 1988; Jett, 1993; with Mellody Hobson: Everest (daughter), 2013

Education: Modesto Junior College, A.A., 1964; University of Southern California, B.F.A., 1966

Other Facts:Originally wanted to be a race car driver, but changed his mind after a near fatal car accident.

Teamed with Steven Spielberg to make the "Indiana Jones" series of movies.

Founder of the George Lucas Educational Foundation, which promotes innovation in education.

Nominated for two Daytime Emmy Awards and won two.

Nominated for two Academy Awards.

Timeline:1967 - Gets an internship at Warner Brothers.

1968 - His short film "Electronic Labyrinth: THX-1138:4EB" wins the best film award at the National Student Film Festival.

1968 - Works as Francis Ford Coppola's assistant during the filming of "The Rain People."

1971- Forms Lucasfilm.

1973 - The film "American Graffiti," co-written and directed by Lucas, is released. It is nominated for five Academy Awards.

1975 - Founds Industrial Light and Magic, a division of Lucasfilm, to create the special effects for "Star Wars." Industrial Light and Magic becomes a leader in the special effects field, working on many films including, "The Abyss," "Jurassic Park," "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest," and "Iron Man."

1977 - "Star Wars," written and directed by Lucas, is released. It wins seven Academy Awards. The title is changed to "Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope" when it is re-released in 1981.

1980 - "Star Wars: Episode V - The Empire Strikes Back" released.

1983 - "Star Wars: Episode VI - The Return of the Jedi" is released.

March 30, 1992 - Is presented with the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award at 64th Academy Awards.

1999 - "Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace" is released.

2002 - "Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones" is released.

2005 - "Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith" is released.

2008 - "Star Wars: The Clone Wars," an animated film based on the Star Wars films, is released. Also, the television series, "Star Wars: The Clone Wars," premiers on Cartoon Network.

2010 - Signs the Giving Pledge, promising to give half his fortune to charity.

2012 - Sells Lucasfilm to Walt Disney for $4 billion.

January 25, 2013 - Walt Disney Studios announces that J.J. Abrams will direct the next "Star Wars" movie installment.

June 2013 - Wins a Daytime Emmy award for Outstanding Special Class Animated Program for "Star Wars: The Clone Wars."

June 2014 - Wins a Daytime Emmy award for Outstanding Special Class Animated Program for "Star Wars: The Clone Wars."

June 24, 2014 - It is announced that Chicago has won the bid to build the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art.

January 10, 2017 - The Board of Directors for the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art announces plans to build the museum in South Los Angeles. The museum will include a wide array of educational, artistic and cultural experiences and amenities.

March 2018 - Is ranked number 372 on Forbes' list of the the world's billionaires with a net worth of $5.2 billion.

TM & © 2018 Cable News Network, Inc., a Time Warner Company. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly

© KXLH.com 2018, KXLH.com
All rights reserved
Privacy Policy, | Terms of Service, and Ad Choices

Can't find something?