May 27, 2010 2:34 PM by KXLH News (Helena)

Helena, Bozeman students named Presidential Scholars

Montana's Superintendent of Public Instruction Denise Juneau announced on Thursday that two graduating seniors from Helena and Bozeman have been selected as 2010 Presidential Scholars.

Montana’s Presidential Scholars are Allison A. Ray of Helena High School and Brooks B. Hallin of Bozeman High School.

Presidential Scholars are chosen based on their performance in a variety of areas, including academic and artistic success, leadership, and community involvement.

The program was established in 1964 by Executive Order of the President to recognize the nation's most distinguished high school graduates. The students will be honored in Washington D.C. in a ceremony sponsored by the White House next month.

Juneau noted, "These students represent great promise for Montana's future. They, their families, and their teachers are to be applauded.”

Each year, about 3,000 candidates are selected based on SAT and ACT scores, typically identifying about 20 girls and 20 boys from each state. Annually, up to 141 students are chosen for the award.

Click here to learn more about the program.


Top Videos

1 2 3 4

Most Popular